No Country For Old Men

I’m a huge Coen Brothers fan. Off the charts. I’ve seen all their movies, many many times each. Crazy-talented guys.

I saw No Country For Old Men yesterday. I knew nothing at all about it a priori except that it was a Coen’s film, Tommy Lee Jones was in it and there were cowboy hats involved. That’s it. I have never read a Cormac McCarthy book. Not sure I’ll start.

This movie is somewhere between ‘great’ and ‘amazing’. The acting is off the scale good. The cinematography is riveting. The silence, emptiness, and air in the movie is a character itself. You can’t take your eyes off it. But I often wanted to. Not so much because of the blood and gore – of which there’s a ton – in truly impressive manners, no less, but because of something else I just can’t quite put my finger on (and also ‘cuz I don’t want to push spoilers here).

See it. If I had to characterize it, I think “insane character study” is probably the closest I could get to a generalization. My guess is I will watch it again. And again. And I’ll come away feeling as oddly about it each time. See it.

UPDATE: I’m astonished that it’s done $41M at the box office. It deserves every penny, but this is not your standard US moviegoer fare, by any stretch, IMO. The film is apparently the 8th highest-grossing film for 2007. Amazing. Somebody please help me pick my jaw up off the floor.

One comment

  1. Brad Feld

    You should definitely pick up Cormac McCarthy’s “All the Pretty Horses.” One of the best books ever according to The Amy.

Leave a Reply

