Why I Drive A Tank

I recently purchased a 1991 Mercedes Benz 350 SDL (W126 S class). The last couple of months have seen me on the receiving end of all sorts of jibes from my friends about driving an “old man” car!

I bought the car for two reasons. First, I can, and will, convert it to run waste vegetable oil. Second, it’s a fucking tank.

This link will take you to a video from Fifth Gear wherein Tiff and Vicki simulate speeding in the fog. The clip is really unpleasant in many ways (no humans were harmed, of course). What’s interesting is that the second car they run into the pack, at 70 mph, is a W126 Mercedes. That’s the one I’d rather be in, for sure. The Fiat is downright terrifying – no chance of survivors :-( .

Finally, this link will take you to a late-1980s W126 Mercedes television advertisement from Australia. Grim, grim carnage, but four-for-four on the survivor front.

3 comments

Leave a Reply

