U.S. Accounts for Half the World’s Defense Spending

I don’t have an iota of a clue as to who The Center for Arms Control and Non-Proliferation is. Until I stumbled upon some charts from their site this evening, I had never heard of them. Based on the headlines on the front page of their site, I think I’ve got a crisp bead on their agenda and political position though.

Even assuming a serious bias here, I have to confess that this report and chart stopped me in my tracks.

This group asserts that:

The United States spends more than the next 45 highest spending countries in the world combined.

I’m an intelligent guy, but I’m not sure I can begin to grok this sort of disparity. Is this data pure bullshit, being massaged for just the sort of dramatic effect it had on me? Lies, damn lies, statistics – and all that jazz?

One comment

  1. Jamie O'Keefe

    That sounds about right. The US increased military spending dramatically after 2000, esp. with the invasions of Iraq and Afghanistan. Still, it was still a pretty high % of all spending before 2001.

Leave a Reply

