Live Chat Gone Dreadfully Wrong

I’m always amused by Will and Brad‘s posts of poor service examples. Here’s one to add to this sad trash heap.

I think LivePerson and live chat in general is GREAT and I take advantage of it whenever I need help and it’s an option. But as I type this, I have been “on hold” with a live chat ‘person’ for over ten minutes now, and then I was “cut off”. Clearly this ‘person’ was a computer, spitting out “be right with you” messages from a canned list of options. To wit:

Chat InformationPlease wait for a site operator to respond.
Chat InformationYou are now chatting with ‘Carla’
Carla: Good Day, My Name is Carla.  How may I help you today?
Shawn: greetings! i can’t find it, but is there somewhere on your site that lists all the different [REDACTED] that are [REDACTED] integrated?
Shawn: i saw some press releases re: [REDACTED] and a couple others, but no list.
Carla: I will be right with you.
Shawn: thx carla.
Carla: Thank you for waiting. I’ll be with you in just a moment.
Carla: I’m sorry for the delay. I’ll be right with you.
Carla: I’m sorry for the delay. I’ll be right with you.
Shawn: hello?
Shawn: are you a computer or a person, carla?
Shawn: 🙂
Carla: I will be right with you.
Carla: Thank you for waiting. I’ll be with you in just a moment.
Carla: I’m sorry for the delay. I’ll be right with you.
Carla: Thank you for waiting. I’ll be with you in just a moment.
Chat InformationChat session has been terminated by the site operator.

Lovely. At least when you call an 800# you can be hung up on by an actual human instead of a computer 😉 .

Leave a Reply

