Lynchian Muzak

I brought my daughter to the Natick Mall Collection for a birthday party. As I walked around, I realized that the low-key music playing throughout the mall collection was a Muzak-i-fied version of the theme to David Lynch‘s Twin Peaks. Two things immediately struck me like a brick. First, anybody familiar with Angelo Badalamenti‘s compositions knows that Muzak-i-fying them is a truly amusing concept – I laughed out loud when I realized what I was listening to! Second, I think the programmers at Muzak (or whomever feeds the mall collection) must be under the age of 30 or they’d realize the bizarreness of running the Twin Peaks theme at a lux mall collection.

She’s dead!

Wrapped in plastic!

Oooh – I must have those cute black sling-backs!

One comment

Leave a Reply

