Kudos to Lenovo

My trusty workhorse, eight days a week, is a Lenovo ThinkPad X60s. She’s been in the stable for about 18 months now, and has never skipped a beat – until now.

Friday morning I popped her open at the coffee shop, and she just wouldn’t turn over. As dead as my blueberry scone. I swapped in my other battery and we were off to the races, only to find out that my 8 Cell High Capacity battery had completely, as we say in Massachusetts, shit the bed. Once on AC, the computer showed it as 80% charged and “not charging” – and nothing I could do was changing anybody’s mind on the topic. ‘Sub-optimal’ to say the least.

I figured I was toast and started shopping for a replacement this evening. On a lark, I did a quick search to see if there were any posts online about people having had and fixed such problems. I immediately landed on a Lenovo support page about some batteries they were replacing. My model number was not on the list, but they had a little app that automatically reads your battery info and takes you to a web page to tell you the score. I had nothing to lose! Lo and behold, my battery is one of the ones affected, and a new one is now, automatically, on its way to me!

How freakin’ painless was that? Yeah, it’d have been ideal if it hadn’t broken down in the first place, but I don’t know that I’ve ever had a computer problem get fixed that easily before!

Solid support. Happy camper customer. I’ll be due for a new computer in Q1 – maybe the X70 will be out by then…

2 comments

  1. Shawn

    The new battery is TOTALLY studly! Been on it hard for two hours and it says I’ve got four hours left. Oh yeah!

  2. Shawn

    08-17 1946 ET – Battery replacement request submitted online
    08-18 1044 ET – FedEx overnight tracking information received via email
    08-19 1536 ET – Replacement battery at my door.

    Happy camper, for sure.

Leave a Reply

