ET EDT GMT-0400 GMT-0500 — Shoot Me.

As most readers of this blog know, I have some issues with how time is represented 🙂 . For starters, I can’t stand the whole “AM/PM” nomenclature (as opposed to 24 hour clocks) and the whole ET/EST/EDT daylight savings time bullshit drives me batty.

I got the following today about a meeting I have next week (emphasis and redactions mine):

When: Wednesday, October 14, 2009 8:00 AM-9:30 AM (GMT-05:00) Eastern Time (US & Canada).
Where: XXXX Federal St. XXXth Floor, Boston, MA 02110
Note: The GMT offset above does not reflect daylight saving time adjustments.

I have no clue what calendaring system generated this reminder email to me, but it basically made my head explode.

In time zone ET, we have daylight savings time until the first Sunday in November. We switch out of DST on 11/01/2009 at 02:00 ET (we “re-live” 01:00:01 through 02:00:00). During DST, ET is GMT-04. Outside of DST ET is GMT-05. The above text says the meeting starts at 0800 ET but that the offset for DST has not been reflected. What the fuck does that mean?!? Is the meeting at 0800 (GMT-5) or at 0900 (GMT-4)? I happen to know it’s at 0800 ‘cuz I was there when we scheduled it, but c’mon folks!

One comment

  1. Michael Kreppein

    True, timezones and changes are especially painful when moving between different calendaring systems and when systems like BlackBerries weren’t updated w/ changes.

    So what do you suggest? I guess going to military time is one. How do you solve the rest?

Leave a Reply

